Angebote zu "Book" (1161792 Treffer)

Cut Bait (eBook, ePUB)
€ 1.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The right bait is the key to good fishing. But back-seat fishing can get you in trouble!

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Shadow
€ 13.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In a book without words, a young girl creates imaginative stories with fantastical worlds using the shadows of such everyday objects as a vacuum, a shoe, and an apple, transforming them with the click of a lamp switch.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Man Without a Shadow
€ 27.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In this taut and fascinating novel, the bestselling, New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-winning author of The Sacrifice, The Accursed, and Lovely, Dark, Deep examines the mysteries of memory, personality, and identity and pierces the enigmatic force that drives human lives-love. In 1965, neuroscientist Margot Sharpe meets the attractive, charismatic Elihu Hoopes-the ´´man without a shadow´´-whose devastated memory, unable to store new experiences or to retrieve the old, will make him the most famous and most studied amnesiac in history. Over the course of the next thirty years, Margot herself becomes famous for her experiments with E. H.-and inadvertently falls in love with him, despite the ethical ambiguity of their affair, and though he remains forever elusive and mysterious to her, haunted by mysteries of the past. The Man Without a Shadow tracks the intimate, illicit relationship between Margot and Eli, as scientist and subject embark upon an exploration of the labyrinthine mysteries of the human brain. Where does ´´memory´´ reside? Where is ´´love´´? Is it possible to love an individual who cannot love you, who cannot ´´remember´´ you from one meeting to the next? Made vivid by her exceptional eye for detail and her keen insight into the human psyche, The Man Without A Shadow is a unique story of forbidden love, a kind of secret, evolving marriage, depicted in Joyce Carol Oates´s tight, impassioned prose. It is an uncanny, ambitious, and structurally complex novel that penetrates the mind and illuminates the heart.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Shadow Man (eBook, ePUB)
€ 1.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

FBI agent Smoky Barrett is no stranger to the darker recesses of the human mind. But nothing could have prepared her for the day she had to watch her husband and daughter die at the hands of a serial killer. She bears the scars, mental and physical. Most people would run - from work, from life, from everything associated with the pain of a shattered existence. But Smoky doesn´t know how to run - and when the job that has defined her life comes calling once again with the news that her best friend from high school has been brutally murdered, she finds herself back in the firing line, chasing a hidden killer who will stop at nothing to confront her. Face to face.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Behind the shadow (eBook, ePUB)
€ 8.49 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Nothing is ever what it seems. Don´t turn your back on anyone or anything. Akira is a dangerous man, a man who has lost everything and has nothing to lose. Fuelled by the death of his beloved wife Madeline and desperate to seek revenge on those who took her from him. Akira is on a mission, a mission to rid the world of the corrupt West and everything it stands for and he has one man set in his sights. Thomas Deane, a fiercely loyal MI6 agent and one half of an elite partnership he is everything Akira despises - a patriotic man devoted to the service of his country, no matter what the cost. Assisted by the brave S.U.C.O. agents (Special Undercover Covert Operations) the elite MI6 team, are completely unaware of what lies ahead. Will they succeed in bringing Akira out of the shadows?

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Great Shadow (eBook, ePUB)
€ 0.49 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Great Shadow, also known as The Great Shadow and other Napoleonic Tales, is an action and adventure novel written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and published in 1892 in J.W. Arrowsmith´s Bristol Library. The novel takes place in the Napoleonic era on the English-Scottish border city called West Inch. The Great Shadow refers to the Napoleon´s influence and his reputation that forms a shadow over West Inch.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Shadow and Bone (eBook, ePUB)
€ 3.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Enter the Grishaverse with book one of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times - bestselling author, Leigh Bardugo . Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: A lost letter from Mal, The Tailor (a Genya story) and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo. Soldier . Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold - a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed. Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country´s magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift. As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation. Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems. Read all the books in the Grishaverse! (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Shadow Sister (eBook, ePUB)
€ 7.99 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Following on from the bestselling The Seven Sisters and The Storm Sister , The Shadow Sister is the third book in Lucinda Riley´s spellbinding series, loosely based on the mythology of the Seven Sisters star cluster. Star D´Aplièse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father - the elusive billionaire, named Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted by him from the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to their true heritage, but Star - the most enigmatic of the sisters - is hesitant to step out of the safety of the close relationship she shares with her sister CeCe. In desperation, she decides to follow the first clue she has been left, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a whole new world . . . A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy and secure in her home in the Lake District, living close to her idol, Beatrix Potter, when machinations outside of her control lead her to London, and the home of one of Edwardian society´s most notorious players, Alice Keppel. Flora is pulled between passionate love and duty to her family, but finds herself a pawn in a game - the rules of which are only known to others, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman unveils the answers that Flora has been searching for her whole life . . . As Star learns more of Flora´s incredible journey, she too goes on a voyage of discovery, finally stepping out of the shadow of her sister and opening herself up to the possibility of love.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
Shadow of Night (eBook, ePUB)
€ 7.49 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Fall deeper under the spell of Diana and Matthew in the captivating second volume of the No.1 internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, following A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Gabaldon. * A Discovery of Witches is soon to be a major TV series - immerse yourself in the ALL SOULS world* ´Deborah Harkness writes as if she´s the hugely more talented love child of Diana Gabaldon and J. K. Rowling´ thebookbag.co.uk on SHADOW OF NIGHT In a world of witches, daemons and vampires the fragile balance of peace is unravelling. Diana and Matthew´s forbidden love has broken the laws dividing creatures. To discover the manuscript which holds their hope for the future, they must now travel back to the past. When Diana Bishop, descended from a line of powerful witches, discovered a significant alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, she sparked a struggle in which she became bound to long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont. Now the coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans is dangerously threatened. Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy for Queen Elizabeth, the vampire falls back in with a group of radicals known as the School of Night. Many are unruly daemons, the creative minds of the age, including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot. Together Matthew and Diana scour Tudor London for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782, and search for the witch who will teach Diana how to control her remarkable powers...

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot
The Shadow of What Was Lost (eBook, ePUB)
€ 5.49 *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire´ Guardian AS DESTINY CALLS, A JOURNEY BEGINS It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion´s Four Tenets, vastly limiting their own powers. As a young Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden powers of the Augurs, he sets in motion a chain of events that will change everything. To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian´s wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is . . . And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated, begins to stir. The Licanius trilogy: The Shadow of What Was Lost An Echo of Things to Come The Light of All That Falls (coming 2019) ´Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters´ Boingboing.net ´Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding´ Fantasy Faction ´Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series´ Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: Jan 16, 2019
Zum Angebot